Blocking User

  • Unknown's avatar

    Hello there,

    I am writing to see if there is anything that can be done to permanently block a WordPress account from being able to see my blog. For reference, I received a notification yesterday that a user started to follow me. He liked a recent post of mine and followed my blog, which I found normal. However, he continuously liked and unliked the most recent blog post TEN different times, which leads me to believe he was simply doing it to continuously ping me and get my attention. After the tenth time I found the situation weird so I deleted the user as a follower. Within minutes of deleting him as a follower, he followed me again. I deleted him and he followed me again. This has happened four times now. Between liking my post ten different times and following the blog four different times, I don’t know what’s going on but I do not want this user to be able to see any of my information. Please let me know what you can do to permanently delete this user from being able to see my account at all. I’ve done some research and it looks like I have to pay money to upgrade to a business plan in order to download a plugin to be able to block a user. Is this true?

    Thank you.

    The blog I need help with is: (visible only to logged in users)

  • Hi there,

    There is no way to prevent someone from seeing or following a public site. Spam likers like this is a problem, and we have automated measures in place to block people who do it on multiple posts in a short period of time, but that doesn’t sound like what this person is doing. My advice is just to ignore it. If you don’t give them any reaction, like removing them as a follower manually, they’ll stop on their own soon enough.

    Any plugin that claims to be able to do this likely just blocks a specific IP address from accessing a site, which is not a solution as 1) IP addresses are not unique and you’ll end up blocking a bunch of other people as well, and 2) is very easy to get around by simply using a different device, internet connection or VPN to connect from a different IP. So it’s not worth upgrading just for something like that.

  • The topic ‘Blocking User’ is closed to new replies.